Week 11: Workbook

Define terms:

change agents: A person from inside or outside an organization who helps it by focusing on such matters as organizational effectiveness, improvement, and development.

cultural critics: A cultural critic is a critic of a given culture, usually as a whole and typically on a radical basis.social responsibility:

transformative practices: A transformative practice is where something is put into effect where it progresses the outcome, and makes for positive and/or negative change.

My research:

After researching the different paths I could take with this project I have come up with the idea that I would like to focus on creating an installation that gets people thinking about the cause (like the Red Sand Project.) 

I would also like to explore the lack of media attention on this topic, and how the lack of media attention means that unless told through education, the majority of the western world are unaware of one of the most brutal crimes happening all around us.

Here are some examples of installations I have found:

“On the International Day for the Abolition of Slavery, 2 December, IOM Ukraine opened a public art installation in Mariinskiy Park in Kyiv. The installation titled, Invisible in Plain Sight, seeks to raise awareness about trafficking in human beings and tell the real stories of its victims who live amongst us, but often remain unseen. It will stay in Mariinsky Park until January 11, 2015, and then travel to other regions of Ukraine throughout 2015.”

“The box was created through a pro bono partnership between Shared Hope and Brunner, a creative agency in Atlanta. The exhibit took Silver in the 2014 OBIE Awards for being for the year’s most creative and dynamic out-of-home advertising in 2014.

Over 600 people were reportedly arrested on charges related to sex trafficking this year because of focused efforts from law enforcement to cut down on the anticipated increase in the commercial sex trade during the Super Bowl each year. Among those arrested was NFL Hall of Fame Lineman Warren Sapp who was arrested on charges of solicitation.”

IMG_0251-700x525.jpg

“A girl walks among a blue chairs installation for Human Trafficking Awareness Day in Cali, Colombia, July 30, 2014. The chairs represent more than 20 million men, women, and children who are victims of human trafficking worldwide. (CNS photo / Christian Escobar Mora, EPA)”

CNS-TraffickingChairExhibit (1000x670).jpg

Creative Work:

Screen Shot 2016-05-28 at 12.00.34 pm.png

IMG_4907.JPG

Brick Wall installation:

http://www.customwallpaper.net.au/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/AdobeStock_64783887

Brick Wall Background

http://www.equalitynow.org/survivorstories

http://www.safehorizon.org/page/human-trafficking-stories-184.html

These are the website that I am collecting my survivor stories from, I have chosen these two websites because they are legitimate organizations and /or projects that focus on the rehabilitation of people that have been through this crime. The first website focuses purely on the sex trade, where the second website also has stories about the forced labor side of human trafficking.

STORIES I AM GOING TO USE:

I need 34 stories (representative of the 34 million people captive) to fill the bricks I am going to use.

  • He lived in the hotel’s maintenance room and shared it with ten other people. The room had no air conditioning or heat.
  • The bathroom they shared was small and didn’t have hot running water. John worked long and irregular hours.
  • During his working hours, he was routinely exposed to toxic paint fumes. He developed insomnia, severe stress, and high blood pressure.
  • He was not fairly paid. When he did get paid there was often a delay and he wasn’t paid for all of the hours he worked.
  • The agency would threaten him with the prospect of deportation. One day, he mustered the courage to leave.
  • A war in his home country had separated the 11-year-old boy from his family and so another family generously offered to take him in and help him continue his education.
  • heard about an opportunity to continue her education while working in the home of a family who was moving from the village to the United States.
  • paid roughly 30 cents an hour to work 12 hours straight, seven days a week.
  • She cooked, cleaned, cared for two infants and an elderly parent, while also being responsible for all of the household maintenance, including preparing large meals for many guests
  • was forced to sleep on a mattress in the family’s kitchen, was not allowed out of the house, and endured constant threats, verbal abuse, and intimidation
  • heard about a man who was recruiting women to become dancers in the U.S. When they spoke, he personally assured Aurelia that she would make enough money to help her family.
  • Shortly after arriving in the U.S., She realized that she had been tricked into joining a group of trafficked women.
  • The trafficker threatened to hurt all of the women if any one of them talked about leaving.
  • The women lived in constant fear that they would be beaten, or worse.
  • As a child, I dreamed of becoming an accountant.
  • Filipina women are often referred to as “little brown fucking machines” by servicemen.
  • “Once I asked a customer, “Why do you like Filipina women so much?” He replied, “Because the women are cheap, way cheaper than Japanese women. And besides, you can do what you like. Here the women are always smiling. They pretend that they like it.”
  • She came with her friend and inspected how my four friends and I lived. We had no idea that they had visited us to secretly decide if we were fit for prostitution
  • We had never heard of “human trafficking” because everyone in the Soviet Union was fed propaganda that claimed that “life is beautiful.”
  • My sister and her friend told to us to chat with them, but I told them that we didn’t feel comfortable meeting the men whom we didn’t understand.
  • That’s when Dana explained she’d invited us over to sell our bodies. She told us that we would be prostitutes from now on.
  • When I was 10 years old, I was married against my will to a brigade commander. The first time he forced me to have sex; I bled and cried a lot.
  • The rebels didn’t kill me, but they forced me to kill others. I was trained to fight and shoot a gun.
  • At first, I refused, but they beat me and threatened me with death.
  • When I returned home… my neighbors and community were afraid of me and shunned me; they knew I was forced to commit unspeakable acts of violence
  • I suffered from extreme insomnia, haunted by memories of the rebels. I was still breathing, but somehow I didn’t really feel alive. My mind kept replaying the past.
  • I tried to fight the man, but he was too strong.
  • I was hoping I would wake up and it would all be a dream.
  • I had been sold. I felt like my life was over.
  • I worked day and night for months, doing everything they asked me, in order to get the money for my madam; and every day I cried.
  • I worked for seven months and was told by my various employers that I had to have sex without condoms when asked.
  • The women here are so desperate for money that they don’t care about AIDSpeople here are ready to die.
  • This is blood money, and it was killing me, too.
  • My madam managed to track me down after I left the hospital and told me that I had to continue being a prostitute to pay for the remaining debt, which she said was still more than half of the 50,000 euros.
  • No one should be forced; buyers, pimps, and traffickers are killing human beings and spreading sickness.
  • When I was in the sex industry, I prayed that someone would take me away. If men would be charged, given severe punishments, it would stop.
Leave a Reply

