Week 4, Task 1: The Essay Project, Planning and Preparation

1A.

An analytical essay is a piece of writing which analyse a thesis and this is used as an argument in the writing. An analytical essay isn’t a summary, this type of essay requires you to look at the smaller parts of the work to help shed light on the larger picture (Meirow, Eden). An analytical essay has a demand for a conclusive response (Clarke, Michael 153) whereas any other academic writing usually concludes with an overall summary of the thesis. When writing an analytic essay it is important to analyse, compare, contrast, criticise, define, describe, examine, explain and illustrate (Clarke, Michael 151) to get the best argument possible.

Works Cited

Meirow, Eden. “What an Analytical Essay Is- And What It Isn’t.” This Analytical Essay Outline Will Kick-Start Your Writing. Web. 8 April 2016.

Clarke, Michael. “The Essay.” Verbalising the Visual: Translating Art and Design into Words. Lausanne, Switzerland: AVA Publishing, 2007. 144-167 Print.

1B.

  1. Responses

These different ways of organizing writing have advantages and disadvantages as someone such as a ‘diver writer’ that just jumps into things may have very strong, attention grabbing starting points- but may get lost when understanding what to write further. Whereas the ‘architect writer’ may have a very strong plan but could get stumped at the start when deciding what points to argue. My own approach to planning/shaping my writing is very similar to the architect writer- I like to have everything planned and researched before I start writing. however, I start writing paragraphs/sentences into my mindmaps so I can get a clearer idea of what I’m going to do.

2. How to plan

When I plan to write an essay I like to break down the question and consider every aspect that I am required to do- from this I do the necessary research to create a mind map of ideas, paths I could take, paragraph starters that I could include in my writing. From these notes, it is very easy to create a rough draft of the main body of writing, which I will go through and refine until I feel comfortable that my argument is valid with the necessary reasoning. I then create an introduction stating my thesis/argument, main points and a conclusion which analyzes my argument finally.

3. What was useful for myself

I can identify myself with the architect writer and the diver writer the most. It was interesting reading how different students describe their own planning and writing techniques because it opens up my mind to the different ways I could approach a piece of writing. All of the different types of writing show advantages and disadvantages it could be interesting trying out a different technique and seeing how it works with me and my thinking strategies.

Leave a Reply

